Tags

,

It seems that all those jobs saved at a Carrier in plant in Indiana weren’t so long-term after all:

More than 600 employees at a Carrier plant in Indianapolis are bracing for layoffs beginning next month, despite being told by President Trump that nearly all the jobs at the plant had been saved.

I wrote back in December that this deal was hot air; not substantive, but image-heavy enough to trick the right into thinking it was more real than the more abstract-looking job growth under Obama. Like the Syria strike and like Trump’s tweet insisting he’s actually doing things:

these were all spectacle. As one Carrier employee says:

“To me this was just political, to make it a victory within Trump’s campaign, in his eyes that he did something great,” said T. J. Bray, a 15-year Carrier employee who will keep his job due to seniority. “I’m very grateful that I get to keep my job, and many others, but I’m still disappointed that we’re losing a lot.”

Sounds about right.

